top of page

Looking Back


As I sit here and think of my past I know a few things that are more than evident.

1) Being homeless changed my life and my outlook on things in general

2) I am actually blessed to be alive, because so many have lost their lives in the homeless circle.

3) I formed lifelong bonds and circles with my homeless brothers and sisters.

You see, not too many people knew I was homeless, mainly because I do not discuss it. It is just a personal preference. Yet when I am downtown handing out bags, I have no problem telling individuals that I used to be where they were, and that I truly understand how they feel and why. Homeless individuals are treated as less than human. I mean we have all done it at some point in our lives, looked at a homeless individual with a look of fear, loathing or disgust. Not even knowing why the person is in the boat they are. We assume its drugs and alcohol.

Facts are, a majority of the individuals that are homeless are so because of job loss, mental health issues, domestic violence escape or no financial military support for a returning veteran.

I know, I get it. Some do beat the system, so do use the system to get what they need and then disappear. I understand that, but do not lump everyone into the same basket.These individuals need love and understanding. Not ridicule and more pain.

Take the time to read up on this and get a better understanding...


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page